Salzburg - St SebastiankircheTweet
Built under the Archbishop Leonard von Keutschach between 1505 to 1512 for the "Bruderhaus" which had been founded in 1498. The Gothic church was torn down and reconstructed by Franz Anton Danreiter and the Tyrolese architect Kassian Singer. (1749 / 1753)
The fire of 1818 destroyed most of the church and the furniture, including the Trogers ceiling fresco and the high altar painting of St Sebastian. After reconstruction, the church was reconsecrated in 1821 and the 1752 altars were restored. Hans Waldburgers Madonna (on the high altar and dating from 1611) was transferred here from St Andrews Church.
The Rococo portal is by Josef Anton Pfaffinger and the gate is to a design by Philipp Hinterseer in 1752.